Change of plans!!! Rotation system send Promotional Playoffs back to original hosts

Football News

The Gert Sibande Promotional Playoffs that we reported as given to Mkhondo have been moved back to AJ Swanepoel Stadium in Ermelo this Sunday 09 June 2019. This happened after a quick intervention by Msukaligwa LFA chairperson Mr Honey Maseko who protested against the playoffs being moved from Msukaligwa LFA.

This was right after we published an article about the playoffs last week dated 28 May 2019 where we reported that they were going to be played in Mkhondo. He immediately called the Gert Sibande FA office to remind them that it was actually Msukaligwa LFA’s turn to host the playoffs because Mkhondo had their turn in 2015. The rotation system began with the 2015 edition in Mkhondo after the Mkhondo LFA was assisted by the then MMC for Community Services Hon. Cllr. Vusi Motha and Speaker Hon. Cllr. Joshua Nkosi of the Gert Sibande District Municipality to get hosting rights. The two leaders worked together in making sure the Regional Playoffs have sponsorship which has been a huge boost to the clubs, players and the LFAs.

It was decided that the playoffs will rotate between streams A (Dipaliseng LFA, Govern Mbeki LFA, Lekwa & Pixley ka Isaka Seme) and stream B (Chief Albert Luthuli LFA, Mkhondo LFA and Msukaligwa LFA). After Mkhondo LFA hosted the playoffs went to Thuthukani, Standerton in 2016, Chief Albert Luthuli hosted the 2017 edition. Last year they were at Kinross Sasol Club hosted by Govern Mbeki.

The 2019 edition teams have been finalised after the hosts Msukaligwa LFA submitted Breyten Stars FC as the champions to represent the LFA at the playoffs on Sunday. Breyten Stars FC will join Barcelona FC from Chief Albert Luthuli, Flying Stars Jnr and Kunene FC both teams from Mkhondo LFA who have two slots at the playoffs this year. The stream A teams are Khari Khafu FC from Dipaliseng. Friday the 13th from Govern Mbeki LFA, Freelance from Lekwa LFA and Hunters FC from Pixley ka Isaka Seme LFA. The stream A&B teams will play a mini knockout made up of four teams per group. The winner of the group semi finals will book a place in the SAB League next season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *