League season almost over with Promotional League Playoffs set to play this weekend in Mkhondo

Football News

The local amateur league fixtures in Mkhondo ended on 05 May 2019 where six league champions from the Mkhondo Promotion League were crowned as champions of the 2018/2019 season. The champions of each league/stream will be involved in the Mkhondo Promotional Playoffs this weekend on 18&19 May 2019 to be hosted by Ngema-Dirkiesdorp Sub LFA.

The playoffs will feature the 2015/16 Mkhondo Promotion League and Gert Sibande Promotional Champions, Comet Riders FC who spent one season back in the promotion league, this after selling their SAB League status last season due to transport costs. They will represent Thandukukhanya Promotion League stream A. The stream B will be represented by Citizen FC, a club that has enjoyed success in the development leagues.

Kunene FC will represent Ngema Dirkiesdorp Promotion League after winning the league in their first season as a newly established family club. The defending champions HiFi FC lost a disciplinary case involving their match against Peace Lovers FC. The match never played after the club objected the use of referee Khehla Mkhonza alleging that he was biased towards them. The league ruled against HiFi and forfeited the 3 points leaving them 2 points behind the champions at 2nd place.

Amsterdam Barcelona FC will be back in the playoffs for the 2nd time after winning back to back, the Amsterdam Promotion League title. Highland Rocks FC of Saul Mkhizeville Promotion League has won a hatrick of titles. They will be joined by Flying Stars FC from Sinethemba Promotion League who won the league leading 2nd placed Spain FC by six (6) points.

Mkhondo Promotional Playoffs 2019 fixtures. The games will be played at Nohhemu Ground, kwaNgema about 35km from the Mkhondo CBD. The champions will qualify to play at the Gert Sibande Promotional Playoffs for a chance to be promoted to the SAB League.

The Mkhondo Promotion League is playing under the Mkhondo LFA in the 5th division of South African football behind the Premier Soccer League (PSL), National First Division (NFD), Provincial ABC Motsepe League and the Regional SAB League. The League has five (5) different streams which are situated in the area jurisdiction of the Mkhondo Local Municipality.

Here are the names of the 2018/19 league season champions and Sub LFAs (League name in brackets):

  1. Amsterdam Barcelona - Amsterdam Sub LFA (Amsterdam Promotion League) based in Amsterdam.
  2. Kunene FC - Ngema-Dirkiesdorp Sub LFA (Ngema-Dirkiesdorp Promotion League) based in kwaNgema and Mabola.
  3. Highland Rocks FC - Saul Mkhizeville Sub LFA (Saul Mkhizeville Promotion League) based at Old Stand, Saul Mkhizeville.
  4. Flying Stars Jnr - Sinethemba Driefontein Sub LFA (Sinethemba Promotion League) based at New Stand, Saul Mkhizeville.
  5. Comet Riders FC - Thandukukhanya Sub LFA (Thandukukhanya Promotion League Stream A)
  6. Citizen FC - Thandukukhanya Sub LFA (Thandukukhanya Promotion League Stream B) both based in Thandukukhanya Township and the Mkhondo CBD.

The draw was done on Tuesday 14 May 2019 at Masenkeni Stadium, Thandukukhanya at 4pm. The ultimate prize for winning the playoffs is promotion to the SAB League and being crowned the overall champions of Mkhondo Promotion League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *