Vumbuka Trust sponsors LFA with a whooping R50 000

Football News Women Football

In a show of confidence and trust to the local football authorities in Mkhondo Local Municipality one of the best managed BEE companies in the region has pledged R50 000 through sponsorship to the Vumbuka Trust Cup for the year 2018. Vumbuka Trust a 20% shareholder at TWK Limited has agreed to sponsor the 6th edition of Vumbuka Trust Cup for clubs playing under Thandukukhanya Promotion League. The partnership between Vumbuka Trust and Mkhondo LFA is entering its 6th year since the first tournament was played in the year 2013.

The 2018 edition of Vumbuka Trust Cup is the biggest with the under 13, u/15& u/17 division each having a total of 14 teams, four(4) ladies clubs and thirty two 32 clubs in the senior division taking the total number of teams to seventy eight (78). It began with the under 13 & under 15 division on 10 August 2018 then followed by the under 17 on Saturday. The senior men under 19 teams began the last 32 round on Sunday 12 August 2018. The ladies followed with a mini top four (4) which left Hintalo Stars and Moleko Stars FC in the final to be played on 02 September 2018.
The inaugural cup was known then as TWK Agri Knockout Cup. There were only 15 men clubs on the 1st edition with the final contested by Comet Riders FC vs Dofi Young Tigers FC. Comet Riders FC emerged as the first ever champions with a 3-2 win in the final.

Brazilians under 15 captain Samkelo Ndlela receiving the winning trophy & soccer kit flanked by Vumbuka Trust officials Miss Ndimande, Miss Mathebula Mrs J Mogorotsi & Mkhondo LFA President Mr Mkhonza at Vumbuka Trust Cup 2016 prize giving.

The tournament has since grown bigger over the years with the introduction of the Ladies Soccer, under 13, u/15 & under 17 boys divisions. The ladies and junior divisions were introduced in the 2nd edition of the cup tournament.

The senior division cup has been won by five (5) different clubs since its inception, no other club has won it twice

Moving Church FC is the most successful team with three (3) titles won in the years 2014, 2016&2017. Dube United Ladies FC won it once in 2015. The junior division under 13 was won by Thokozani All Blacks FC in 2014, Losta Stars FC in 2015 and the last two years belonging to Citizen FC. Losta Stars FC won the 2014 edition in the under 15 division, Brazilians FC won in 2016. Citizen FC is the only side to have won it twice for this division in 2015& 2017. The under 17 division first played in 2015 with Citizen FC taking it home. Flymingo United FC won the under 17 division in 2016. The defending champions this year is Bayern Munich FC, they defeated Comet Riders FC 5-4 on penalties last season to win their first ever kit in a local tournament. The senior division cup has been won by five (5) different clubs since its inception, no other club has won it twice. Comet Riders FC won 3-2 against Dofi Young Tigers FC (now known as Madola United FC) in the first edition in 2013.

Proud moments for club owner Mr Dube after his club claimed the 2017 edition of Vumbuka Trust Cup. The trophy went to Dube United FC for the first time after they defeated Retiefville United FC on penalties at the finals at Mandla Magudulela Stadium on Sunday 03 September 2017.

Losta Stars FC defeated Comet Riders FC 6-5 on penalties in the 2014 edition after a 2-2 draw in regulation time. Flymingo United FC won the 2015 edition defeating the now defunct Tiger Boys FC 2-1 in the final. The 2016 edition was won by PR Wanderers FC defeating Comet Riders FC 3-1 in the final. The defending champions for the 2018 edition is Dube United FC. The club won the cup on penalties last year against Retiefville United FC after playing a 2-all draw in regulation time. Clubs have won various prizes including cash, playing kits and training equipment in all divisions over the years. The cup tournament is currently playing every Saturday and Sunday at Thandukukhanya. The semi finals and finals will play on 01&02 September 2018 at Mandla Magudulela Stadium, Thandukukhanya, eMkhondo.

The Fixtures:

The 6th edition Vumbuka Trust Cup 2018 combined fixtures. The games began on Friday 10 August 2018 and will end with the finals on Sunday 02 September 2018 at Mandla Magudulela Stadium, Thandukukhanya, Mkhondo Local Municipality in the Gert Sibande Region of Mpumalanga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *